The College building will be closed on Friday, May 17 and Monday, May 20.

Our History

Historical Overview

As early as 1830, Baptists in Nova Scotia, Canada established a “department of pious scholars” at Horton Academy in Wolfville (founded 1828) for ministerial training. With the founding in 1838 of what became Acadia University, preparation for ministry was carried on under various formats until the School of Theology was put on a more formal footing in 1923.

After Acadia University was reorganized in 1966, the Baptists of Atlantic Canada began to operate the School of Theology under the name Acadia Divinity College, and on June 1, 1968, the College was established by an act of the Nova Scotia Legislature.

Today, the College exists as the seminary of the Canadian Baptists of Atlantic Canada (CBAC), functioning within its evangelical tradition, and continues as the Faculty of Theology for Acadia University. The University awards all of our degrees. All of our graduate degrees are fully accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada.

While we are a Baptist seminary, we recognize that the Church of Jesus Christ is much larger than our own church affiliation and so we welcome men and women from all church backgrounds. Currently, the College has students from more than 20 denominations.


1828 |   Baptists in Nova Scotia founded Horton Academy

1830 |   Department of Pious Scholars was formed at Horton

1838 |   The Nova Scotia Baptist Educational Society established Queen’s College at Horton

1841 |   Queen’s College became Acadia College

1844 |   A Theological Department was formed at Acadia

1891 |   Acadia College became Acadia University

1923 |   A School of Theology was organized at Acadia

1966 |   Atlantic Baptists surrendered majority control of the Board of Governors of Acadia University

1968 |   Acadia Divinity College was established as a body corporate in affiliation with and located on the campus of Acadia University, but governed by a Board of Trustees composed of members of churches in Fellowship with the United Baptist Convention of the Atlantic Provinces

Historical Reflections through the College’s Principals and Presidents