College News

A Service of Celebration: Commissioning the Faculty of Theology

in College News, Faculty

With members of the Acadia Divinity College Board of Trustees and the Acadia University community as witnesses, on November 15, 2017, the faculty of Acadia Divinity College declared their commitment to their ministry and academic calling. They were commissioned to take their places, individually and together, as the Faculty of Theology of Acadia Divinity College and Acadia University. It was very fitting that the Commissioning Service took place on Founders’ Day, the anniversary of the day in 1838 when the Nova Scotia Baptist Education Society formally approved the establishment of an institution of higher learning where all people would be free to work and study.

The service to commission faculty is a very special and meaningful moment in the life of the College. The College was honoured to have in attendance the 3rd Principal Harold L. Mitton and former faculty and staff, including Dr. Allison A. Trites who served as Faculty of Theology (1965 to 2002), as all gathered together in community and in faithful prayer to ask God’s blessing for the faculty who have been called to academic ministry.

Rev. Timothy McFarland, Chaplain at Acadia University, welcomed all to the service, held in the Manning Memorial Chapel at Acadia University. Mr. Douglas Schofield, Chair of the Acadia Divinity College Board of Trustees, delivered the Prayer of Invocation, and Mr. James Stanley, Chair of the Faculty & Staff Committee of the Board, delivered the Commissioning Prayer. On behalf of Dr. Peter Rickets, President and Vice-Chancellor of Acadia University, Mr. Scott Roberts brought greetings from Acadia University, noting the influence of ADC faculty on both the university community and the community at large. The College’s commitment to students was evident as they were invited to contribute to the service with gifts of music and in the reading of the Psalm and the New Testament scripture.

The College is both the Faculty of Theology of the University and the seminary for the Canadian Baptists of Atlantic Canada (CBAC). It was therefore meaningful to have Rev. Greg Jones, Associate Executive Minister of CBAC, offer an inspirational benediction to close the service.

Rev. Dr. Stuart Blythe, Rev. Dr. Dorothy Hunse, and Rev. Dr. Matthew Walsh were welcomed as new faculty to the College, and Dr. Blythe and Rev. Dr. Anna Robbins were installed as the occupant of the John Gladstone Chair of Preaching and Worship and the occupant of the Dr. Millard R. Cherry Chair of Theology, Ethics and Culture, respectively. Dr. Robert Wilson was commissioned as Senior Professor, the first in the history of the College.

In his homily, Dr. Harry Gardner, President of Acadia Divinity College, spoke of the faculty as the heart of a seminary. He declared, “The heart of Acadia Divinity College is healthy and strong, with a unified beat to do our part in equipping Christians to serve.”


The Faculty of Theology

President, Dean of Theology

Rev. Dr. Harry G. Gardner, Professor
Abner J. Langley and Harold L. Mitton Chair of Church Leadership

Associate Dean

Rev. Dr. Stephen D. McMullin, Associate Professor
Sheldon and Marjorie Fountain Chair of Evangelism and Mission


Rev. Dr. Anna M. Robbins, Professor
Dr. Millard R. Cherry Chair of Theology, Ethics and Culture 

Dr. Robert S. Wilson, Senior Professor
Thomas James Armstrong Memorial Professorship of Church History

Rev. Dr. R. Glenn Wooden, Associate Professor
Payzant Chair of Old Testament Studies

Rev. Dr. Stuart M. Blythe, Associate Professor
John Gladstone Chair of Preaching and Worship

Dr. Christopher Killacky, Associate Professor of Theology

Rev. Dr. Carol Anne Janzen, Assistant Professor of Practical Theology

Rev. Dr. H. Daniel Zacharias, Assistant Professor of New Testament Studies

Rev. Dr. John H. McNally, Assistant Professor of Practical Theology

Rev. Dr. Dorothy E. Hunse, Assistant Professor of Pastoral Care

Rev. Dr. Matthew L. Walsh, Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies

Rev. Dale O. Stairs, Lecturer in Practical Theology

Rev. Dr. Jody L. Linkletter (absent), Lecturer in Youth and Family Ministries

Rev. Renée J. Embree (absent), Lecturer in Youth and Young Adult Ministry

Photo Gallery


Related NEWS