About the Award

We are proud of the ways our alumni serve God and celebrate their faithful service and dedication through the ADC Alumni Distinguished Service Award. Established in 1995, the Award honours members of the Alumni of the Acadia University School of Theology, and/or Acadia Divinity College whose gifts for ministry have contributed significantly to the Christian Church in Canada or throughout the world.

Every August, ADC presents the award to a deserving individual during the Friends and Alumni Supper. It is a time of great celebration as we recognize not only the work of the individual, but also God’s faithful work in and through them.

Recipients of the Award

2016 – Rev. Dr. Lennett J. Anderson

2015 – Dr. Tracy A. vom Hagen

2014 – Rev. Cecil Aaron Kenny

  • 2013 – Rev. Kevin Vincent
  • 2012 – Rev. Dr. Ida Armstrong-Whitehouse
  • 2011 – Rev. Donald E. Robertson
  • 2010 – Rev. Marlene G. Knowles
  • 2009 – Rev. Dr. David R. Watt
  • 2008 – Rev. Dr Dennis M. Veinotte
  • 2007 – Rev. Ron G. Baxter
  • 2006 – Rev. Frank E. Locke
  • 2005 – Rev. Hazen C. Parent
  • 2004 – Rev. Nelson A. Metcalfe
  • 2003 – Rev. Dennis R. Leamont
  • 2002 – Rev. Hedley H. Hopkins
  • 2001 – Rev. John S. Beers
  • 2000 – Rev. Joao S. Matwawana
  • 1999 – Miss H. May Bartlett
  • 1998 – Rev. Earl D. Ward
  • 1997 – Rev. Carrol R. Armstrong
  • 1996 – Rev. Stewart D. Trites
  • 1995 – Rev. Josephine K. Moore


Nominations for the Alumni Distinguished Service Award are welcomed. Along with the name of the nominee, please include a short letter outlining the nominee’s ministry and accomplishments. All nominations will be considered by the President’s Advisory Committee.

Nominations can be sent by email to adcinfo@acadiau.ca or by mail to:

ADC Advancement Office
c/o Acadia Divinity College
Wolfville NS B4P 2R6